Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Portal » Board index » PUBLIC FORUMS » PLAYER HELP




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Linux Distance not showing Fix
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:27 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:55 pm
Posts: 6
Since there isn't a post on this particular issue I will post here for reference.

If you are playing on linux widescreen and cannot see the distances on your HUD the fix is the following:

1. navigate to your game's directory. Then go into \data\fonts.
2. edit fonts.ini as administrator. Delete entire contents and replace with.

Code:
[trueType]
nickname = ButtonText
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.038500

[trueType]
nickname = PageHeader
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.041000

[trueType]
nickname = SubHeader
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.034500

[trueType]
nickname = ItemName
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.021000

[trueType]
nickname = ListText
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.026000

[trueType]
nickname = ToolTip
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.026000

[trueType]
nickname = Rollover
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.022000

[trueType]
nickname = HudSmall
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.026000

[trueType]
nickname = MissionObjective
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.056000

[trueType]
nickname = Normal
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.031000

[trueType]
nickname = NewsMission
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.026000

[trueType]
nickname = NewsTicker
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.041000

[trueType]
nickname = PlayerName
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.021000

[trueType]
nickname = TradePlayerName
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.021000

[trueType]
nickname = DebugText
font = FixedSys
fixed_height = 0.026000

[trueType]
nickname = ConfirmPlayerText
font = Arial Unicode MS
fixed_height = 0.036000

[trueType]
nickname = ConfirmText
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.036000

[trueType]
nickname = NavMap1600
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.015000

[trueType]
nickname = NavMap1024
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.020000

[trueType]
nickname = NavMap1280
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.01900

[trueType]
nickname = NavMap800
font = Agency FB
fixed_height = 0.02300


3. Edit rich_fonts.ini as administrator. Delete entire contents and replace with the following:

Code:
[trueType]
font = 0, Arial Unicode MS, 18
font = 1, Agency FB, 26
font = 2, Arial Unicode MS, 22
font = 3, Agency FB, 24
font = 4, Agency FB, 96
font = 5, Agency FB, 20
font = 6, Agency FB, 30
font = 7, Agency FB, 18

[Style]
name = STYLE_CONSOLE
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 255, 255, 255

[Style]
name = STYLE_DIALOG
font = 1
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_DIALOG_SMALL
font = 5
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_BUTTON
font = 6
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE_SELECT
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 245, 234, 82

[Style]
name = STYLE_LOCTABLE_INACTIVE
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 182, 182, 182

[Style]
name = STYLE_SMALL_HEADER
font = 5
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_SMALL_HEADER_ACTIVE
font = 5
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 245, 234, 82

[Style]
name = STYLE_SUBSUBTITLE
font = 1
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_TITLE
font = 3
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224
justify = center

[Style]
name = STYLE_ERROR
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 191, 29, 29

[Style]
name = STYLE_NN_AGENCY
font = 5
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 135, 195, 224

[Style]
name = STYLE_PRIVATE
font = 0
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 59, 191, 29

[Style]
name = STYLE_CONSOLE_SENDER
font = 2
bold = false
italic = false
underline = false
color = 0, 255, 0


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux Distance not showing Fix
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 21, 2018 9:10 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:47 am
Posts: 6748
Location: Virginia
Wow, a Linux player. Haven't had one for a long time. I used Linux 20 years ago, but not for freelancer. Our guru passed away several years ago and I have no clue how to fix that now.


Top 
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux Distance not showing Fix
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 11:54 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2018 5:55 pm
Posts: 6
To be honest, I'm not really a Linux guy. Or even a computer guy. I was forced into it, with a machine my son gave me, which wasn't strong enough to run windows. I thought he might love his old man enough to buy him something better but I guess I am incorrect. Freelancer works well when installed through PlayOnLinux; even this weak machine seems to handle it smoothly. The mod is great no bugs so no crashes; just the font issue that shows up after doing the .ini widescreen fix. I did not experience this kind of stability with the other mods so I give credit to the person(s) who built this one. uv47


Top 
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Linux Distance not showing Fix
 Post Posted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 5:44 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 1:40 am
Posts: 1162
Location: Washington State, US
Now I have to try Linux and this game again lol... Thanks for the tip!

_________________
Travelling the 'verse in search of fame, glory, fortune and of course... Chimichangas!


Top 
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
 
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

Portal » Board index » PUBLIC FORUMS » PLAYER HELP


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron